Crayon Lipstick

This DIY project has been circulating and I’m not gonna lie, the first thing I wanted to do was go out and get a pack of fab coloured crayons.  It seemed like fun and I wanted to try it out. But the more I got to thinking… the less I wanted crayon wax on my lips.

1978805_10152200200190845_1661624213_n

So, what are crayons made of?

Crayons are made of paraffin and colour pigment. Paraffin wax is derived from coal, wood or petroleum. This wax is mixed with many chemical pigments to make the coloured crayons.

Although the box says “non-toxic” that doesn’t mean it’s okay to ingest.

Crayola issued this craft safety warning:
“Food-related crafts—Art materials should not be used on food, such as egg shells, if these foods are intended to be eaten. Art materials should not be used to make or decorate containers intended to hold edible food if the food would be in contact with the art material.”

That made me believe that crayons definitely shouldn’t be used as lipstick. Now, I know what you might be thinking. Why am I so worried about the negative effects of crayon on my lips when our makeup products are filled with stuff that’s far worse?

Yes, safe cosmetics are hard to come by but they do exist. If you are that health conscious there are better alternatives out there.

Would have been fun but I’m gonna have to stay away from this DIY. I’ll opt for the pigmentless look and wear sheer coconut oil instead.

What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

